image

I never thought I would see,
someone else’s life
                     FLASH
before my eyes.
But I did, the
                   INSTANT
I received that call.
You were going to be okay I was told,
But that didn’t
                     STOP
the picture,
From playing out in my head.
I saw again the day you were
born.
Your tiny hand resting in mine.
Your first
       SMILE,
                  GIGGLE,
                                LAUGH.
I saw your face saying I love you.
The way you looked to your brother,
When you first recognized him.
I saw you
                     FALLING
off the bike,
Learning to ride,
never giving up.
I saw you graduate kindergarten,
Such a proud look on your face.
I saw you with your friends,
Refusing to give me a kiss.
Too cool for that I suppose.
I saw you riding to school,
ALONE,
        THE STREET,
                            THE CAR,
                                         THE FEAR.
I saw you
                     LAYING
in the street,
The car
                   SPEEDING
away.
I saw your life’s flame,
                    FLICKER,
In the wind.
A billion points of light,
All possible
                   FUTURES
for you,
Nearly blink out of
                 EXISTENCE.
But you were ok.
I don’t know what I would have done
If I had lost you.
I love you
                        SON!!!

