This is something I wrote after spending 4th of july with my kids in 2009.

Today, I took my kids to the park for over half the day. We ran into an old friend of mine and his family. We played hide and seek, ran around and went out to lunch. We were going to stay at the park all day and then watch fireworks at night, but I had to go home and get a little shuteye. I felt kind of bad because my youngest son really wanted to stay all day, but I just couldn’t stay. My neck was killing me. So we came back and had a couple hours to wait until fireworks. My older son was pretty patient, but T wasn’t so patient. He was kind of being a brat, but that’s okay. I thought it would be kind of sad since this is the first fourth of July since the wife and I broke up, but I was way wrong. As the fireworks started my kids were enthralled. We were closer than we have ever been to the show and they just stared the whole time. They never looked away. When we finished up, we had about a mile walk or so back to the car and the little one told me that it was the best fireworks show he had ever seen. My older boy agreed. Hell… I agree too. I feel like a great dad right now. I remember my dad doing stuff with me, and now I can do stuff with my kids. I really miss my dad, but the way I try to honor him is by making my kids as happy as my father made me. I guess sometimes we get caught up in life and forget about the important things. My children are the most important things in my life. If we all just do one thing a day to make our kids smile, you’re doing okay. If you’re reading this and you have a child in your life tell them you love them. Take them to the park, read them a book, draw a picture with them. Just get them to shut off the damn t.v. and get outside with you a bit. Not only will they be thankful, but so will you. Remember, sometimes there are no second chances, don’t put it off, it absolutely cannot wait. Do it right the first time. Maybe not perfect, but at least put some effort into it. Well, that’s about all I have for tonight. Hope you all have a nice day or night or whatever. I’m going to bed now. Take care.

