What is it about tooth pain, that can turn the toughest guy, into a complete sissy? I come from a family where men don’t show their pain. I was also physically abused to the point that I learned to shut off any massive reaction to pain.
    I have worked through broken fingers, rib injuries, and a cracked tailbone in my time… So why is it that when I get a toothache, I turn into a grumpy, whiny, crybaby? And to top it off, my dumbass doesn’t call the dentist right away.
    “Let’s see if it just goes away.” I think to myself. When the hell does this ever seem like a good idea?! I know my body, and have the ability to analyze pain to the point that I usually know what is wrong. A background in sports injury education doesn’t hurt much. Lol.
    So I’m sitting here, analyzing and struggling not to scream, when I realize its my wisdom tooth. When it came in, it was seated directly beneath my molar. So they pulled my molar and the wisdom tooth grew in. There is a cavity in the molar, but that’s not the pain I’m feeling. The pain is from the shifting of the molar, and its now pushing on my other teeth. The pressure buildup is so bad, that I now have a constant headache that feels like the back of my right eye is being crushed.
    So I call the dentist right? Hell no!! I start effing with the tooth, trying to shift it around and get rid of the pressure. I try to loosen it and hopefully pull it myself. WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH ME?!?!
    So this goes on for more than a month. My friends have told me to call the dentist. Hell… Even my seven year old told me to call. “I will” I respond. But do I? Of course not. I figure it will go away on its own, or I’ll finally manage to yank the sucker.
    Needless to say, that didn’t work out. I have called the dentist and am waiting for a call back. I’m hoping to get in on Monday, because I have my son with me then, and I can use it as an opportunity to teach him about why he should take good care of his teeth.
    I guess that’s it for now. I will write another one about my dentist trip and let you know if I am correct about the reasons behind the pressure.
    Thanks for reading. 🙂
   

