I come upon the dark tower,
My long journey finally done.
For years I have chased this elusive tower.
I stand at the base in the shadow of death,
And call the names of those who have fallen along the way.
I enter the doors to find a spiral staircase, going up and up into infinity.
Upon each landing is a door with a number.
I reach the first and peer inside.
There is a man and woman standing,
Holding a crying child.
I turn and head up the stairs.
Door number three
The man and woman are fighting,
While the child cries in the corner.
Troubled, I continue on.
Door number 10.
The child is beaten to the floor by a man,
As the woman watches in silence.
I try to enter and stop it,
But this has already happened,
There its no way to change it.
All I can do is keep climbing.
Door number 12.
The boy stands, fists clenched,
Looking down on a bloody heap of another boy.
Tears well up in my eyes as I turn away.
I skip doors now afraid to see,
What sits in the rooms awaiting me.
Door number 16.
The boy, now almost a man,
fills a pipe with powder, and smokes.
Dark circles under his eyes,
He hasn’t slept in days.
Door number 21
The boy, now a man, stands in a tux.
His bride to be walks down the isle.
He is healthy, clean.
Door number 25
The man and woman play with two children.
They are happy, smiling, loving.
Their eyes are vibrant, and full of life.
Door number 26.
The man stands next to his fathers bed,
Holding his hand as he takes his final breath.
A tear falls to the sheet as he falls to the floor, crushed, confused, broken.
Door number 29.
Blood drops from the mans arm in streams.
A picture of the woman and children in his lap.
Tired, empty, sorrowful.
Door number 32.
The man lays alone in a dark room.
Silence surrounds him as he weeps.
Lonely, hitching breath, dispair.
Door number 35.
The man lays with a woman,
Wrapped in his arms.
loving, healed, hopeful.
I step into the room, and find myself looking at this beautiful creature with love.
Who is she?
Could it be you?

