Geocaching:  The outdoor sport or game of searching for hidden objects by using Global Positioning System (GPS) Coordinates posted on the internet.
I’ve known about this for a long time, but always passed it off as a dorky thing to do.  Who the hell wants to go out and find a box of crap, only to sign a log and leave?!  Well, recently I heard about it again and started thinking it might be fun.  I started researching a bit, discovered the rules, and decided that this morning I would take my young son with me and find one.  I registered on Geocache.com and got everything ready.  Did a search within five miles of my area and discovered that there are about 650 caches in that radius. 

image

I was amazed!!  So I found one close and decided that before my son and I went rollerblading, we would go find it.  Now, I can’t give anything away about the positioning of the cache in case someone in my area reads this.  That would totally take away the thrill of the search… but I will explain what I can. 
We awoke and prepared for the journey in the earlyish morning light.  My son was excited at the prospect of what we would find.  We were total cache virgins, and didn’t really know what to expect. We grabbed our backpacks, some water, and headed out into the day.  The cache was only about a half a mile away.  I downloaded a program that kind of goes along with geocaching.com and allows me to view the cache on a live time map, radar, or static map.  We chose radar.  It was great!! 

image

It was like playing a real life video game.  Following a blip on the radar until we got close enough to find it.  We came upon the area where it was and I shut the radar down.  We kind of knew the area… hell, I had been by it many times in the last few years, never knowing it was there.  There had been a hint within the posting that said, “Walk in and look up.”  We did just that.
Tristan spotted it first.  He was so excited.  A small Tupperware container rested in the area.  We took it out, and sat down to open it.  Here are the internals.

image

Tris was way into all the little trinkets, even though I explained that today we would be taking nothing.  If you take something, you must leave something in return.  I was more interested in looking at the logbook.  It turns out that the first signing was 08/05/09.  Almost four years to the day when we found it.  Someone even found it yesterday.  I had seen the log online.  It just blows my mind.  So many people have been here, at different times, and we all have this in common.
So after we took some photos, and put the unit back, we were supposed to go rollerblading.  (I’m in the process of teaching my son how to blade)  But I asked my son, “Hey, there’s another one not far from here.  Wanna go find it?”  He agreed and off we went. 
One of the things I find are that it’s the adventure that’s important.  As we were walking down the street we found this tree.  Tris laughed so hard he almost fell over.

image

So we approach the next cache via radar and start looking.  I became super excited because Tris passed the cache and I found it.  The clue had been, “Tree low, sweet chariot.”  We opened it up and found the log, and one tiny little trinket.

image

We signed it and replaced and headed off to go rollerblading.  It was a great day, and I’m very happy about the caches.  As I posted on the website when I listed the finds… A lot of times as a divorcee, I feel like a failure as a father.  But the people who place these things give us a chance to bond with, not only humanity… but our children as well.
If I can give you one piece of advice… go geocaching.  It’s great fun, and you can kill a bit of time.
Have a great day everyone.  Luv ya all.

